Paritutu makes history at TCM champion-of-champions finals day

Paritutu makes history at TCM champion-of-champions finals day

This post was originally published on this site

Paritutu made history on Saturday.


Paritutu made history on Saturday.

Paritutu created history when it swept the floor and claimed all four men’s senior titles at the TCM champion-of-champions finals day on its home green on Saturday.

The men’s singles was first held in 1915, followed in later years by the pairs and fours, although it was not until 1975 that the triples discipline was added.

And, therefore, after 45 years, one club has finally managed the milestone.

Stefan McCartain started it all off when he beat John Kurta (Fitzroy) 21-13 in the singles. Shortly after Darren Goodin’s four of Phil Drought, John Zittersteijn and Rodger Hassall were a little fortunate in edging New Plymouth’s Lawrence Hori, Mario Marinovich, Tobyn Hori and Kelly Hill 12-11. Hill trailed by four playing the last end but could only manage a three.

* Stefan McCartain showing early season form
* Bowlers back on the greens as season gets under way
* Fitzroy side the last remaining local hope in Taranaki Women’s Open Fours

After lunch, Martin Jordan, Daryl Read and Hamish Kape saw off the challenge of Opunake’s Kewene Ratahi, Levi Davis and Paddy Deegan 23-12 in the triples. Deegan led 11-10 at the mid-point but Kape’s crew called the tune after that.

McCartain then combined with Brendon Walton to defeat West End’s Bruce Hall and Dean Elgar 20-13 in the pairs. Paritutu dominated ends 12 to 16, claiming 10 shots to take control.

In doing so, McCartain became just the sixth man to do the double in one season, following four gold star legends – Ernie Spurdle, Mort Squire, Maurice Symes and Geoff Hawken – and Hodaki Paterson. Paterson, remarkably, achieved the double in 1957, the same year he coached Taranaki to win the Ranfurly Shield.

Chris Commane (Opunake), after leading 18-9, held off Jane Augustine (Tower) 21-15 in the women’s singles decider.

An umpire’s measure ensured a 15-13 victory in the fours for Faye Hill, Norma Rothwell, Vickie Kelly and Rhonda Adams (Fitzroy) over Ella Smailes, Dorothy Turner, Pauline Kennedy and Kristin Stampa (Hawera Park). Adams led by one playing the last end. Stampa drew a toucher with her last bowl but it fell out and the measure went to Fitzroy.

However, Kennedy and Stampa reversed their fortunes in the afternoon when they took the pairs 19-11 against Carolyn Wilks and Robyn Klenner (Fitzroy).

There were further accolades for Paritutu when the triples went to Bridget Fletcher, Barbara Batley and Cathy Andrews. The Andrews side was a 24-17 victor over Cheryll Sharrock, Jopie Half and Anne Duggan (New Plymouth). After 10 ends, the scores were locked at 11-all, but Andrews won the next seven heads.

Briar Atkinson (Lepperton) claimed the women’s junior singles. She beat Janet Ravji (Stratford-Avon) 21-12. Atkinson dominated the second stanza to pull away.

In the men’s junior singles, Kurt Smith (Oakura) repeated the victory of his mentor, Jim Priest, of 42 years ago, when he ousted Steve Temperton (West End) 21-13.


Subscribe, Like And Share!

Leave a Reply